New England Chapter 2022 National Award Winners

APWA's National Awards Program recognizes outstanding individuals, groups and Chapters representing the best in the public works profession. Hundreds of submissions from throughout the United States and Canada are evaluated in over 25 categories. The New England Chapter has consistently received National recognition for the achievements of our members and the public works profession. The 2022 New England Chapter National Award winners are:

Top Ten Public Works Leader

Jennifer Perry, Director
Department of Public Works, Exeter, New Hampshire

MA Statewide Public Works Mutual Aid Program

David Lane, Director of PW, Danvers, MA John Bechard, Deputy Chief Engineer, MassDOT

2022 New England Chapter National Award winners:

Donald C. Stone Award for Excellence in Education (Individual)
Marilee Enus, Director, University of New Hampshire, Technology Transfer Center

<u>Professional Manager of the Year Award – Facilities and Grounds</u>

James McCarthy – Facilities Director, Town of Westwood, Massachusetts Department of Public Works

<u>Professional Manager of the Year Award – Public Works Emergency Management</u>

David Lane – Director, Town of Danvers, Massachusetts, Department of Public Works

<u>Professional Manager of the Year Award - Transportation</u>

Joseph Ouellette, Executive Director, Office of the State Traffic Administration, Connecticut Department of Transportation

<u>Professional Manager of the Year Award - Water Resources</u>

Robert Fischer – Water Quality Superintendent, City of South Burlington, Vermont

These are APWA National Awards Recognizing the Profession

Commendation for Exemplary Service to Public Works Award

Honorable Anne Watson, Mayor, City of Montpelier, Vermont

Exceptional Performance Award – Journalism (non-Chapter)

Seven Days Video for its "Stuck in Vermont" presentation video featuring Clinton "Yogi" Alger, foreman for the Huntington Vermont Highway Department

Management Innovation Award

Thomas Roy, Director, Town of Simsbury Connecticut, Department of Public Works For Management Innovations developed for snow and ice operations during COVID-19

Public Works Projects of the Year were established to promote excellence in the management and administration of public works projects by recognizing the alliance between the managing agency, the consultant and the contractor, who working together to complete public works projects. This Year's New England Chapter National Public Works Projects of the Year winner is:

Historical Restoration/Preservation - \$5 Million, but less than \$25M

Climate-Resilient Revitalization of Langone Park & Puopolo Playground Renewal Primary Agency – City of Boston, Massachusetts Parks & Recreation Department Primary Consultant – Weston & Sampson Primary Contractor – WES Construction Corp

Each National award winner will be recognized for their achievements at the APWA Awards Recognition Ceremony at the Charlotte North Carolina Convention Center on August 29 at 5:00 pm.

The New England Chapter would like to congratulate all the award winners on their accomplishments and a well-deserved honor.

New England Chapter 2022 Chapter Award Winners

Chapter Awards recognize the significant accomplishments and contributions of our members. The 2022 New England Chapter Award winners are:

Member of the Year

Adam Yanulis, Vice President, Tighe & Bond

Distinguished Service Award

Richard J. Benevento, President WorldTech Engineering

Outstanding Achievement in Public Works

Dan Nason, Director
Department of Public Works, Sudbury, Massachusetts

Young Leader Award

Kevin McCabe, Director
Department of Public Works, Dover, Massachusetts

Contributor of the Year

Precision Concrete Cutting, Sal Ceneri, President

Public Works First Responder Award

John Couture, DPW, Wakefield, Massachusetts Elton Sawyer, DPW, Wakefield, Massachusetts